Nobel Committee Regrets Giving Obama the Peace Prize

The ultra-liberal is famous for choosing targeted environmentalists and political activists and flat-out terrorists who have nothing to do with peace. The stellar list includes Yasser Arafat, Jimmy Carter, Al Gore, the International Panel on Climate Change, the Euro Union, the UN and many people who would leave you scratching your head regarding peace in the world connections.

In a new memoir titled “Secretary of Peace: 25 years with the Nobel Prize,” Geir Lundestad, the non-voting Director of the Nobel Institute until 2014, writes that he has developed doubts about the Norwegian Nobel Committee's decision to grant Obama the Nobel Peace Prize over the past six years. While the prize was designed to encourage the new president, it may have not have worked out as intended.

“In retrospect, we could say that the argument of giving Obama a helping hand was only partially correct,” Lundestad writes, according to VG newspaper. Lundestad explains that it became impossible for Obama to live up to the high expectations placed upon him. “Many of Obama's supporters believed it was a mistake,” he writes. “As such, it did not achieve what the committee had hoped for.”

So, they gave him the prize in the hopes that he might live up to his baseless rhetoric.

According to Lundestad's account, the White House even tried to find a way for Obama to avoid the ceremony, though the Nobel Committee warned it that recipients of the prize were only allowed to avoid the ceremony in exceptional circumstances.

Following the media interest in Lundestad's memoir, the Norwegian historian called a press conference on Thursday to deny that he had implied that Obama didn't deserve the prize. “Several of you have written that I believe the prize to Obama a mistake, but then you cannot have read the book,” Lundestad told the assembled reporters, according to VG. “It says nowhere that it was a mistake to give Obama the Peace Prize.”

Lundestad's book also contained a number of other controversial passages, including some criticism of the committee's former chairman Thorbjørn Jagland and revealing that Norway's foreign minister Jonas Gahr Store had tried and failed to prevent the committee awarding the prize to a Chinese dissident in 2010.

Obama may be one of the most controversial recent winners of the Nobel peace prize, but he is far from the first. Famously, Indian independence leader Mohandas Gandhi never won the prize despite being nominated multiple times. Lundestad himself later said it was the Nobel's “greatest omission.”

Source:Washington Post



  1. Barbara Dienna
  2. Clifford Edwards
  3. Margo Moore
  4. 1LT Los
  5. Jean Gillingham
  6. Teriqua Jones
  7. John Lyndon Green
  8. Jane Cisonno

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest